Thursday, May 8, 2008

Dirk earns another All-NBA honor

Dirk Nowitzki picked up All-NBA honors for the eighth consecutive year, with his inclusion on the second team. The streak of first-team selections was snapped at three for last season’s MVP. Steve Nash is the only other All-NBA player in club history with two third-team selections.

“It is always an honor to make the All-NBA Team,” Nowitzki said. “And to be recognized along with so many talented players means a lot to me.”

Nowitzki averaged a team-high 23.6 points (ranked 7th in the NBA), a team-high 8.6 rebounds, a career-high 3.5 assists and 36.0 minutes in 77 starts. He shot 47.9% from the field, 35.9% from 3-point range and 87.9% from the free throw line (10th in NBA). Nowitzki finished the season with 20 games of 30-plus points and 25 double-doubles.

In five postseason games, Nowitzki averaged a double-double of 26.8 points and 12.0 rebounds (both team highs) to go with 4.0 assists and 1.4 blocks in 42.2 minutes per game.

Nowitzki remains the only Mavericks player in franchise history to be named All-NBA first team (2005-07) and is one of only three players (Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan) to be named to an All-NBA Team in each of the past eight seasons.

Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers headlines the first team, announced today by the league. The first-time MVP is joined by Kevin Garnett of the Boston Celtics, Dwight Howard of the Orlando Magic, LeBron James of the Cleveland Cavaliers and Chris Paul of the New Orleans Hornets.

The lone unanimous selection, Bryant is on the first team for the third straight season and fifth time in his career. Garnett was the winner of the Defensive Player of the Year Award. Howard led the league in rebounding, James won his first scoring title and Paul led the Hornets to their first Southwest Division title.

The second team consists of Phoenix’s Nash and Utah’s Deron Williams at guard; San Antonio’s Duncan and Nowitzki at forward; and Phoenix’s AmarĂ© Stoudemire at center.

The third team: San Antonio’s Manu Ginobili and Houston’s Tracy McGrady at guard; Utah’s Carlos Boozer and Boston’s Paul Pierce at forwards; and Houston’s Yao Ming at center.

Jason Kidd and Josh Howard were among the other players receiving votes. Find the complete teams and voting totals at

No comments: