Tuesday, April 29, 2008

Playing spoiler on Scott's big night

Freshly-named Coach of the Year recipient Byron Scott is receiving the Red Auerbach Trophy before Game 5. A former winner hopes that’s the only highlight of the evening for Scott.

“We want to try to spoil it today,” said Avery Johnson, the 2006 winner. “We want him to be happy about receiving the award, but hopefully go to bed tonight with a loss.”

In his fourth season as the Hornets’ head coach, Scott received 458 points, including 70 first-place votes, from a panel of 125 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Coaches were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote. Boston Celtics head coach Doc Rivers was second with 242 points (23 first-place votes) and the Houston Rockets’ Rick Adelman was third with 193 points (17 first-place votes).

“It means a lot to our team because we understand it’s a collective team effort,” Hornets guard Chris Paul said.

No comments: